Supporting MENA economies in their reform efforts

The MENA Initiative is bringing economies from the region closer to the OECD by deepening the dialogue with the Organisation and supporting MENA reform agendas.

MENA economies have intensified their participation in OECD bodies and their adherence to legal instruments. They have integrated a number of statistical reporting and information systems, benchmarking exercises, and they have continued to participate in OECD Global Foruma publications and policy reviews.

The OECD’s activities with the MENA region involve 19 economies: Algeria, Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestinian Authority, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, SyriaTunisia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.

Additionally, the OECD provides country-specific support for Morocco through the Morocco Country Programme, which aims to support the country in advancing its reform agenda in three strategic areas: competitiveness, public governance and social inclusion.


Country Programme: Morocco

Base erosion and profit shifting (BEPS) participantsDjibouti, Egypt, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia

Development Assistance Committee participants: Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, UAE

Governing Board of the Development Centre members: Egypt, Morocco, Tunisia

Investment Committee associates: Egypt, Jordan, Morocco, Tunisia


Other forms of engagement:

OECD work with MENA economies

MENA-OECD Competitiveness Programme

The Competitiveness Programme works closely with several MENA countries on projects to develop inclusive, sustainable and competitive economies.

Business Climate in Egypt, Morocco
Integrity in Morocco


Macroeconomics: Tunisia

SME Policy

Suez Canal Economic Zone: Egypt
Women’s Economic Empowerment: Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia

Read about the Programme

MENA-OECD Governance Programme

The Governance Programme supports projects in the following areas:

Gender equality in Jordan, Egypt, Morocco, Tunisia & United Arab Emirates

Youth engagement & empowerment in Jordan, Morocco & Tunisia

Open & innovative governance

Machinery of government

  • Development of policy frameworks in Egypt
  • Public financial management in Tunisia & Qatar
  • Regulatory reform in Palestinian Authority
  • Recovery & reconstruction in Yemen
  • Public procurement & auditing in Algeria & Tunisia

Local governance in Jordan, Morocco & Tunisia

Public sector integrity in Morocco, Tunisia & Palestinian Authority

Rule of law in Egypt, Palestinian Authority & Yemen

Read about the Programme

Arab-DAC Dialogue on Development

The Development Assistance Committee (DAC) works with several MENA countries to forge new and mutually beneficial relationships in international development co-operation. 

Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates

Read about the Dialogue



G7 Deauville Partnership

Through the MENA Transition Fund of the G7 Deauville Partnership, the OECD has implemented 20 projects accompanying Arab Countries in Transition to achieve their reform efforts.

Egypt, Jordan, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia, Yemen

Read about the Partnership

G20 Compact with Africa (CWA)

The OECD supports the G20 Compact with Africa which includes Egypt, Morocco and Tunisia, to improve the framework conditions for private investment.

Read the CWA's policy matrix


The EU-OECD Support for Improvement in Governance and Management (SIGMA) provides country assistance in areas such as financial control, organisation of State administration, policy making and co-ordination, public procurement, civil service and human resources development, and administrative law. 

Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Tunisia

Read about SIGMA