Newsroom

Taxing Energy Use 2018 launches Wednesday 14 February 2018

 

07/02/2018 - Taxes are among the most effective tools for reducing the negative impacts of energy use. Despite this, most emissions from energy are not taxed at levels that would curb use and limit climate change. The OECD’s latest Taxing Energy Use report will show how energy and carbon taxes vary by sector and type of fuel in 42 OECD and G20 economies and discuss the most cost-effective ways to reduce energy emissions.

 

The report will be released at 10:00 GMT / 05:00 EST on Wednesday 14 February and journalists are invited to join a one-hour webinar at 16:00 GMT / 11:00 EST the same day. The OECD’s head of Tax Policy and Statistics David Bradbury and head of Green Growth in the Environment Division Kumi Kitamori will present the report’s findings and answer questions.

 

To register for the webinar, go to online registration, click on "Register", enter the requested information and click “Submit”. No password is required.

 

To request an advance copy of the report under embargo, journalists should email embargo@oecd.org. For further information, please contact Catherine Bremer in the OECD Media Office (+33 1 45 24 80 97).

 

More on OECD Green Talk webinars: www.oecd.org/environment/green-talks-live.htm.

 

Working with over 100 countries, the OECD is a global policy forum that promotes policies to improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.

 

Related Documents