Regional Policy Networks

>> Asociación con organizaciones regionales (version en español)

Regional and Sub-regional Parthnerships


Close co-operation with leading regional and sub-regional partners has been and continues to be a key feature of the OECD's work in Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC), including via the OECD LAC Regional Programme. The OECD brings policy analysis expertise and identified best policy practices to the table, while regional organisations provide region-specific knowledge and capacity to develop concrete projects.


 The Regional Facility for Development in Transition for Latin America and the Caribbean

The United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)

ECLAC, one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations, has supported and contributed to the OECD’s work with the region for many years. The OECD regularly partners with ECLAC to produce its flagship annual regional publication, the Latin American Economic Outlook (LEO), as well as other regional and country studies. ECLAC also collaborates with the OECD and the EU in the context of the EU Regional Facility for Development in Transition.



 The logo of the Inter-American Development Bank logo (IDB) 


Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)

The IDB is a co-organiser of the International Economic Forum on LAC in Paris, and either co-organises or participates in the majority of OECD LAC regional policy networks. In addition, the OECD and the IDB have produced joint regional publications, such as Boosting Productivity and Inclusive Growth in Latin America and the Government at a Glance LAC publication series. 


LOGO El Banco de Desarrollo de América Latina (CAF)

Development Bank of Latin America (CAF)

CAF has partnered with the OECD since 2011 to produce the LEO. Furthermore, in 2019, the OECD and CAF co-published the first SME Policy Index assessment for the LAC region, covering the members of the Pacific Alliance, as well as Argentina, Ecuador and Uruguay. CAF is also a prominent partner and participant in OECD LAC regional policy networks, co-organising the meetings of the LAC Network on Corporate Governance of State-Owned Enterprises.


‌‌‌‌‌‌logo oea

 Organization of American States (OAS)

The OAS has collaborated with the OECD for many years in the framework of the OECD LAC Anti-Corruption Programme and on the International Migration in the Americas publication series. Following the OECD LAC Regional Programme’s 2018 meeting on “Integrity for Good Governance in LAC”, the OAS invited the OECD to take part in its Joint Summit Working Group (JSWG) along with 11 other international organisations. In this way, the OECD is adding its relevant activities in a collective work programme oriented to fulfill the mandates of the latest (XVIII) Summit of the Americas.


 logo segib

 Ibero-American Secretariat (SEGIB)

SEGIB organises the IberoAmerican Summit, which has served as the venue for the presentation of the LEO since 2007. Ibero-American meetings serve as key opportunities for the OECD to engage in further policy dialogue with regional actors.


                    Logo of the Latin American and Caribbean Economic System (SELA)



The Latin American and Caribbean Economic System (SELA)

SELA is another recent member of the OECD LAC Regional Programme’s Steering Group. Since 2016, the OECD has collaborated with SELA and CAF to adapt its SME Policy Index methodology to the LAC region. The OECD has also been invited to participate in many of SELA's regional events, and appreciates these opportunities for further policy dialogue and exchange of good practices.


 EU Logo

European Union

The EU Regional Facility ("the Facility") for Development in Transition is a European Union initiative implemented in partnership with the OECD, its Development Centre, and ECLAC, which was launched in May 2018. The Facility co-finances tailored initiatives to offer new responses to changing development realities and challenges. Since its 1st Steering Committee held in July 2018, the Facility approved a number of regional and country-specific projects, covering issues such as well-being indicators, fiscal policy and domestic resource mobilisation, gender equality, investment, and budgeting and infrastructure. The OECD also collaborates with other initiatives of the European Commission, such as the Programme for Social Cohesion in Latin America (EUROsocial+).

Image of the logo of the World Bank official Logo


The World Bank

The World Bank recently joined the OECD LAC Regional Programme’s Steering Group. It collaborates with the OECD in Latin America in a variety of ways, including the expansion of the OECD Product Market Regulation Indicators to the LAC region, the OECD Peru Country Programme, and the co-organisation of the Programme’s 2nd Ministerial Summit on Productivity in LAC during 2018.  




Map of the Central American countries

Central America

 The Central America Initiative of the OECD LAC Regional Programme was formalized in 2017 with the Council of Ministers of Regional Integration of Central America (COMIECO). The Initiative has as its main objectives to:

  • Support the development of regional value chains and integration in GVCs
  • Strengthen the role of the services sector and of SMES in the integration process
  • Strengthen the institutional development of the economic integration process
  • Strengthen international regulatory co-operation among countries in the region
Map of the countries of the Caribbean in colour blue Caribbean
  • The OECD recognizes the particular context and challenges of the Caribbean sub-region, and is engaging with the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) and the Association of Caribbean States (ACS) to identify potential areas of co-operation within the OECD LAC Regional Programme going forward. 


Logo of the Pacific Alliance in Eng

Pacific Alliance (PA)

Read more about the OECD’s work with the Pacific Alliance (ESP only)


  Image of the official logo of MercoSur


The OECD is developing ever closer ties to Mercosur members: Brazil is a Key Partner of the Organisation, Argentina has a targeted Action Plan for bilateral engagement; and both of these countries, as well as Paraguay and Uruguay, are members of the OECD Development Centre.
The OECD is also engaging more with Mercosur at sub-regional level and looks forward to further supporting Mercosur priorities, including its co-operation with the Pacific Alliance.


The OECD also combines its efforts with other relevant partners to support the LAC region, such as the Inter-American Center of Tax Administrations (CIAT), which works with the OECD in compiling comparable tax revenue statistics between OECD and LAC countries. The OECD looks forward to strengthening and expanding all of these partnerships through the LAC Regional Programme.